Skip to main content

Scanning Services

Digitizing Print Collections with the Internet Archive
Open and free online discovery and access, 25-year storage and engineering file management and unlimited downloads.


We can help digitize your collections in 4 simple steps:
Scanning Step 1 Scanning Step 2 Scanning Step 3 Scanning Step 4
Non-destructive color scanning using our Scribe system at one of our many scanning centers across the globe. Complete MARC records, Dublin Core & XML, just 10c USD per image and a $3.00 set up charge per general circulation item. Archival materials, microform, audio and video are just a few of the other formats that can be digitized and displayed online.

Create and upload high-quality JP2000 images; persistent identifiers, 25 year of hosting of files and management of file system and file access.

Create high quality PDF A files; run OCR across texts to allow "search inside" all books. Add to Internet Archive search engine; display via our open source Book Reader.

In addition to long term hosting on archive.org, your books will be integrated with Open Library, openlibrary.org, a page on the web for every book.

Program Highlights Partners
  • 2,400,000 books online
  • 600 million pages scanned
  • 1,000 book scanned each day
  • 30+ million downloads each month
  • 33 scanning centers on 5 continents
  • 21 petabytes of data stored
  • 30 Gb per second bandwidth
Library of Congress
Harvard University
The New York Public Library
Smithsonian Institution
The Getty Research Institute
University of California
University of Toronto
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Boston Library Consortium
C.A.R.L.I.
Johns Hopkins University
Allen County Public Library
Lyrasis
Massachusetts Institute of technology
State Library of Massachusetts

. . . and over 1,000 other Open Content Alliance partners
Get Involved

To start a digitization project with us, or ask any questions, you are invited to contact your local Regional Digitization Manager for more information:

  • San Francisco, CA, Jesse Bell, bell@archive.org
  • Fort Wayne, IN, Jeff Sharpe, jeffs@archive.org
  • Boston, MA, Tim Bigelow, Tim.B@archive.org
  • Beltsville, MD, Shelia DeRoche, shelia@archive.org
  • Princeton, NJ, Stacy Argondizzo, stacy@archive.org
  • Toronto, CANADA, Gabe Juszel, gabe@archive.org
  • London, UK, Chris Booth, cbooth@archive.org
  • Satellites, Elizabeth MacLeod, emacleod@archive.org

For questions or more information on the Table Top Scribe System, please contact Gemma Waterston Batson at gemma@archive.org, and visit our Table Top Scribe information page.



Creative Commons licensed photo credits for Step 1 & 2: TechSoup for Libraries & Heather Champ